….an etsy revelation….

7 Dec

Oh ETSY….

Yesterday I crafted 6 “deals” one could take advantage of on the 6th (this was after I promised myself I would stop offering daily coupons, deals, offers, promos, etc).  This is on top of items in the shop being marked down by 30%. No-one chose to take advantage of the deals. I have handmade jewelry being offered at far below what I paid in materials (not taking into account design and crafting time), a vintage fur coat which I value over $100 for $27, and more examples!  It can be frustrating when I spend time brightening the backgrounds of the photos so my items will pop, research what words people are searching for and put them in my listing, and then few folks swing by to check out the item.  And, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t jealous of shops who have 500+ sales (although I am happy for them!).  But, I must, must, must remind myself that in the wonderful world of ETSY one must be patient…there are MANY wonderful choices of items to buy (I know this as an avid ETSY customer too). I wonder if this is ringing any bells to ETSY shop owners?  I want to thank every customer, your patronage is deeply appreciated and thank all my ETSY teammates who share this journey with me!

One Response to “….an etsy revelation….”

  1. studiomaison (@studiomaison) December 15, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I can definitley relate. I work really hard on making sure my pictures and descriptions are pleasing, etc. I feel like I am missing something because other shops that might not have great pics have hundreds of sales. I started my shop as a hobby but am definitely trying to step it up. stay patient and keep trying new things to get your listings out there. I completely understand what you are talking about.

    found your blog on the etsy interactive blog team. great blog 🙂

    Saralyn

    http://www.studiomaisonblog.us

Leave a Reply

