Lonely Earrings and Vintage Clothes

21 Sep

Lonely earrings? In July I was sad that views and sales on my ETSY shop had diminished greatly. Other ETSYians reassured me that July is one of the slowest months in the ETSY world. Folks suggested I take July to think about the shop overall and plan for the fall and winter seasons. I excitedly rummaged through all of my beads and pulled out the best ORANGE ones, and also purchased unique orange (and some other fall colors–browns, reds, yellows) on ETSY and at local bead shops. I then went to town making fall-themed earrings. In reality, these earrings can be worn year-round. For example, one pair features a pale orange coral tube bead with hand-etching decor and a hand-carved cream stone bird–that is an all-season pair of earrings. Others lean far more towards fall, for example, adorning clay acorn beads. And there are a few pairs which have black and orange beads–for which most people will only wear around Halloween.

I priced the earrings at what I thought was a fair price for the materials, design, and labor. I then slashed all of the Fall Earring Series earring to $6. Making it so in “earring cases” I would end up losing money, however, I truly want these earrings to find a good home. While I am not complaining, I am sad that none have found a home. Well, one pair did find a home–I gave a pair of acorn earrings to a team contest and the winning recipient expressed how much she liked them!

I recently re-did my ETSY shop semi by color and thus the orange earrings are taking up most of the 1st few pages. In the middle of November, when most folks have turned their thoughts to winter and winter holidays, I will remove about half the Fall Earring Series earrings from the shop–giving some away as presents and storing others in safe keeping for the next fall. In the mean time, it’s only September 21st, so perhaps a pair will find a home this fall and I learned (or was reminded) of an important lesson about investing in so much materials.

 
Next topic…..ViNtAgE CloTheS….
Folks love vintage clothing for many reasons–an investment, to use for the material or buttons, to wear (wanting to recycle instead of buying mass-produced and/or to have a unique piece that no-one else is wearing), to collect (in general or by period/ style), feeling that things used to be made better in earlier years, for the love of the story behind the piece, and many more reasons.

Of course, some folks don’t care for vintage clothing–not wanting to wear “used” clothing or only enjoying modern styles. I don’t know the names of most of the famous vintage designers from the 1920s-80s. However, I adore vintage clothes! There are MANY reasons, my three primary are:

~wearing unique pieces which others will not be wearing

~the belief that things used to be made in a much higher quality–hand-sewn beads, hand-stitched everything, fur-lined vests (although I only wear vintage fur, not supporting modern day fur), and reasons I can’t even articulate aligned with higher quality.

~I like to imagine who used to own and wear the pieces. The wool dress suit from the 1940s–was her husband at war? The silk evening gown from the 1950s–did that women know any famous movie stars? The brightly stitched flowers on a t-shirt from the 1960s–did she participate in the anti-war movement?

Why do you love vintage clothes?

And, let’s not get me started talking about vintage jewelry……..

Leave a Reply

