Pinecones, Acorns, and Ramblings

31 Aug

Fall is here! Over the past year I developed a deep love for pinecones and acorns. It must be the combination of texture, color, and possibilities. I now have acorn and pinecone jewelry, beads, ornaments; I have them made of wool, glass, plastic, and many other materials–as well as real ones floating around my house. Perhaps next time you go outside look down at the ground and see if there is a treasure which speak to you.

There are 2 “art and craft” projects which I desperately want to dig into, but time does not permit right now. The adage, “do what you love,” can only apply sometimes. One is to continue working with melting crayons on canvas–it is so fun and the results are gorgeous. Second, I’d like to apoxy small vintage plates to turned-over tea cups and perhaps add an item or 2 to the plate (which will then serve as a platter or dish, a place to put jewelry, keys, etc). Perhaps I will carve out time to make one and post a picture here!

I think it’s important to keep your creative juices flowing–and it does not have to be a traditional art or craft. I mean any type of creativity you are not using for work/professional purposes. Your creativity may be in the kitchen, the back-yard garden, carving pumpkins, re-arranging picture frames……..

Lastly, I’d like to share another thought. ETSY is the world’s largest place for the selling, buying, and browsing of handmade and vintage items and supplies and every-time I log on (which is multiple times a day), I am in awe of the talent and beauty before me. It can be frustrating as a seller however, as there are so many wonderful items to choose from, yours may often not be the item chosen. Currently I have some Fall Earring Series which I basically priced around the cost of the materials (not charging for design or work) and I love them all! I would be so grateful if another person loved a pair enough to purchase it and make it their own. However, an ETSY seller must remind him or herself to have patience waiting for that right person to come alone and fall in love….and when that happens I am deeply, deeply grateful!

Speaking of love (and then I’m really done in this post), I have a vintage clothes destash lot (which was hard to part with), although none of the clothes would fit me (be too small), the patterns and materials are stellar–the adage “they don’t make things like they used to” rings true!

You can find the pieces, from yellow cashmere to handmade patchwork with golden buttons, to vintage red leather and purple suede here:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/107554797/unique-vintage-clothes-destash-amazing

🙂 Amanda

Leave a Reply

